Trick is a short film by Shooting Incident Productions (UK and Germany), based on an original screenplay by Des Nnochiri.

Trick follows a night in the life of John – an average guy with an extraordinary role to fulfill, in the events that unfold.

In the movie, John is played by actor Rob Proietti.

Actor Rob Proietti, star of "Trick"

Here’s a perspective on the film, in Rob’s own words:

Q: Tell us a little about yourself.

A: My name’s Rob Proietti. I live in Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire.
It’s where I’ve been all my life, it isn’t the greatest place for
opportunity. I’d love to be comfortably living in a big city, perhaps
even abroad.
I love film, photography, indie music and gaming (You can never be too old!)
I’m a creative and adventurous individual that’s always seeking the
most from life, taking opportunities as they come. A dreamer,
ambitious.

Following all sorts of career paths and discovering myself – I’m now
deciding to pursue my dream of becoming successful in the TV and film
industry.
I have a flexible job at the moment and this allows me to have more
freedom to really get out there and chase my ambitions.

Q: How did you get into acting, and what have you done, so far?

A: Me and a long time friend of 16 years (and that’s a long time
considering I’m only 22 myself). We had a completely spur of the moment
idea which began at a car boot sale. The idea was to buy several
random objects and with using these objects we should develop a story
using them. This eventually turned into amateur acting, something we
do when we’ve got spare time. We’d create basic settings at home / in
the garden and create scripts for us to play out, or even on impulse
and improvise as we got along. Working on Trick is the first
professional production I’ve been lucky enough to be involved with.

Q: How did you get involved in the Trick movie?

A: I had been introduced to the website StarNow.co.uk where I decided
to invest in a full membership. This is where I spotted the
advertisement for extra work in the film Trick. Here, I first made
contact with Jay Spencer. He then put the idea across that I could
possibly be put in for the role of JOHN. A few days later, I caught
the train to Leeds, where I met Jay at his studio (Studio19). We had a
chat about the plot and how it plays out, he’s a great guy.

Q: Tell us a bit about the character you play.

Rob Proietti - in character, as John - on the set of "Trick"

A: At first, we see John as slightly mysterious. We’re unsure what his
intentions are as he spots a young lady alone.
Giving in to temptation, we soon see another side of John as a
nervous, hesitant, bumbling man. He’s very much out of his comfort
zone as he’s being led into an unknown journey…

Q: Any noteworthy events, on set?

A:It has so far been directed fantastically, there are a few little
touches which have been thrown in to create a darker atmosphere. Such
as intimidating looks from nightcrawlers and a quick sly drug deal
over the table.

Q: Your hopes for the future? Any upcoming projects we should know about?

A: I hope to appear in more productions, taking on more small roles
and extra work. Developing myself, gaining more and more experience to
the point where some day I can appear in feature films and bigger
projects, taking on more dominant roles.

There aren’t any upcoming projects at this very moment, but with my
new contacts and through the membership of the website I’m with, I
hope to seek new projects.

Q: Thanks for your time, Rob.

John. Doe? Smith?

“Just an average guy.”

“Nothing special, really.”

“He seemed like such a mild-mannered, unassuming fellow.”

Yeah. It’s always the quiet ones.

The unremarkable guy with a dark or hidden side to his nature. A staple of horror and crime cinema.

Remember Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates, in Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho (1960)?
The shy young motel proprietor with the domineering mother proved to be much more than that. Totally bonkers. And a dab hand, with a knife.
As for his mother…

In The Usual Suspects (1995), Kevin Spacey as wimpish loser Roger “Verbal” Kint spins a yarn as twisted as his own leg. A tale of a disastrous crime caper, and an evil mastermind named Keyser Soze – a man with whom Verbal shares a remarkable history.

Director M. Night Shayamalan’s (“I see dead people; The Sixth Sense) 2000 film, Unbreakable, delivers another twist. David Dunn (actor Bruce Willis) – a man coming to terms with his recently acquired powers of indestructibility – is assisted by Samuel L. Jackson, as Elijah Price. Elijah has the reverse problem to Dunn; his bones snap, in a stiff breeze. But his fragile form and bookish exterior hide a brilliant mind. One which… well. See it yourself, and find out.

Computer geek / software mogul Eric Knox (played by Sam Rockwell) provides Charlie’s Angels (2000) with their dream client; rich, bumbling, easy to manage. But his new software holds the key to a deadly mystery. And, of course, there’s no such thing as a dream client.

In Suspect Zero (2004), director E. Elias Merhige turns the screw of expectation the other way, building up Sir Ben Kingsley as ice-cold serial killer type Benjamin O’Ryan – a man suspected of targeting other serial killers, until he’s revealed to be something else, entirely.

Good, or evil?

Player, or played?

Misrepresentation: Blurring the distinction between the trickster, and the tricked is at the heart of many a good thriller.
Trick (I hope) is no exception.

BTW, you know Rob’s anecdote about improvising movie scenes from random objects?
It might interest you to know that the tale which gave birth to Trick grew from a software-generated selection of random words:
“hungry trying to look beautiful”.

Misrepresentation, all the way.

In the next part of this series, we’ll be talking to the man who’s both a director of Trick, and the head honcho of Shooting Incident Productions.

Till then.

Peace.

